5 Things I Would Tell 25 Year Old Me About Money Habits

Our mindset can do a number on your pocket. The trick is to start building the habits and stay consistent.

Yolan - Your Cozy Life Coach
5 min readNov 20, 2023
Photo by Microsoft 365 on Unsplash

I never considered myself someone to be careless with money, heavily reliant on credit cards or a member of the “charge it up and figure it out later” squad. But I am guilty of not making decisions from an abundance mindset.

In my 20s I knew about budgeting, having an emergency fund and the concept of investing. I just didn’t think it was something I had the capacity to focus on given I needed a roof over my head, food in my stomach and what was left over had to pay Uncle Sam. My limiting belief was that I wasn’t smart enough to entertain anything beyond making sure my bills were paid.

I saw a meme on Instagram the other day that said “You meet your 18 year old self, you’re allowed 3 words, what would you say?” Immediately what came to mind was “Bitcoin. Sell 2021”. Now I giggle as I write this but seriously, I began to ask myself:

what would I tell my younger self to debunk some of the beliefs I had about money at the time?

And this is what I came up with (obviously more than 3 words) but who am I kidding, my…

--

--

Yolan - Your Cozy Life Coach

In constant pursuit of homey vibes✨ Helping my fellow overthinkers get out of their heads & find ease+flow in the daily grind. IG:yolierenae --> Come Say hi!